Freddie Mac Primary Mortgage Market Survey, 30-year and 15-year fixed
DENIAL RATE BY DEMOGRAPHIC · HMDA PUBLIC DATA
Maine denial rates by race, ethnicity, sex & age
How to read this. Raw, unadjusted HMDA denial rates (conditional on a terminal decision — denied ÷ (denied + originated)). NOT controlled for loan purpose, amount, geography, or credit — these show disparities, not proven discrimination.
Which denominator. These rates use hmda.denial_rate.orig_basis — denied ÷ (denied + originated), 25.374% nationally in 2024. Two other conventions exist in this product and are NOT interchangeable with it: hmda.denial_rate.action3 (denied ÷ actions 1–5, 19.526%), which is what the market tiles show, and hmda.denial_rate.decisioned (denied ÷ actions 1–3 over closed-end consumer loans only, 21.286%), which the fair-lending screen uses because it is the one that isolates the credit decision. A gap between two “denial rates” on two pages is usually this, not an error.
Unadjusted, and it matters. A raw gap here pools purchase with cash-out, first lien with subordinate, site-built with manufactured — and product mix alone can manufacture most of a gap or hide one entirely. One 2024 lender's raw gap for Black applicants is +47.9pp and +1.3pp once the comparison is like-for-like; another looks 12.8pp better than market raw and is 3.1pp adverse adjusted. The mix-adjusted screen does that comparison per lender.
DIMENSION
White denial rate over time
Maine conditional denial rate vs all applicants · 2018–2025
% · GROUP VS ALL
Subject: White conditional denial rate (denied of terminal decisions). Benchmark: all applicants in Maine, same denominator. Raw and unadjusted — a gap reflects many factors (application mix, credit, geography), not discrimination by itself.
Group detail · 2025
Latest year · sort any column · click a row to chart that group
46,20429,3627,14519.6%White denial rate36,507 terminal decisions (denied + originated)−1.2 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
8,7004,5431,69327.1%Race Not Available denial rate6,236 terminal decisions (denied + originated)+6.3 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
85543118329.8%Black or African American denial rate614 terminal decisions (denied + originated)+9.0 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
8435799714.3%Joint denial rate676 terminal decisions (denied + originated)−6.5 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
62037410021.1%Asian denial rate474 terminal decisions (denied + originated)+0.3 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
3381708132.3%American Indian or Alaska Native denial rate251 terminal decisions (denied + originated)+11.5 ppVersus all applicantsGap from the all-applicant denial rate this year, in percentage points
Denial rate = denied ÷ (denied + originated) — the FFIEC-style share of applications reaching a terminal lender decision that were denied (excludes withdrawn, approved-not-accepted, incomplete, and preapproval-only outcomes). “VS ALL” is the gap from the all-applicant rate this year. Groups with too few terminal decisions to report a stable rate are shown as “—”.
ORIGINATED MIX · PURPOSE x TYPE · HMDA PUBLIC DATA
Maine 2025 originations by purpose and loan type
Originated only. Every cell counts loans MADE (HMDA action taken = 1). Applications, approvals the borrower did not accept, withdrawals and denials are all excluded, so this is a mix of lending, not of demand. Purpose classes partition the universe: refinance total = rate/term + cash-out, which is stated rather than stored as a column — the same discipline that ended the `refinance_count` collision between two surfaces.
Attribution & methodology. Benchmarks are computed by MortRadar from Home Mortgage Disclosure Act (HMDA) public data files published by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council (FFIEC), covering activity years 2018–2025. Originations = loans originated (action taken 1); denial rate = denials / actioned applications (CFPB Data Browser convention); loan amounts are the public files' midpoint-rounded values. MortRadar's aggregations are derived works and are not published, reviewed, or endorsed by the CFPB, FFIEC, or any government agency. See data attribution and the disclaimer.
Maine · Banks & credit unions · Not reported · any lien · any purpose
Records with no derived dwelling category. Never folded into 1-4 family — a partial-exemption filer can omit it. Depository institutions — banks, thrifts and credit unions, matched by LEI to the institution spine.
No HMDA records match that combination of filters. Widen one of them — the counts are real, so an empty cell means the market has no such loans, not that the page is broken.
Source: HMDA public loan-application data (CFPB/FFIEC). Denial rate = action taken 3 ÷ actions 1–5, the CFPB Data Browser convention; the DENIED column counts actions 3 and 7, which is why it is larger than the rate's numerator. Bank / non-bank is resolved by LEI against the institution spine — filers we could not match are their own bucket, never folded into either side. “Not reported” buckets hold records whose filer claimed a partial exemption; they are never merged into a reported bucket.
151 weekly observations · latest 6.58% for the week of 07/23/26 · −0.54pp over the window
BASIS: APPLICATION WEEK. Since 2022-11-17 Freddie Mac builds PMMS from mortgage APPLICATION data (ICE / Optimal Blue) rather than a lender survey, and points and fees were dropped from the published rate — so levels either side of that week are not perfectly continuous. This is a rate on applications, not on closed loans; the closing-basis series are below. Source: Freddie Mac PMMS via FRED (MORTGAGE30US, MORTGAGE15US).